Helping you live your best life

Skip main navigation
Group Created with Sketch.

Need help

What can we help you find?

Related Search Terms

Related Search Results


Scope and Standards of Practice

As the keystone of the American Nursing Association (ANA) Nursing Standards, the Scope and Standards of Practice articulates the who, what, where, why, when and how of practice.

This complete revision of an ANA classic addresses advanced and general clinical practice, and the non-clinical practice of nursing role specialties. Encompassing all aspects of contemporary professional nursing practice, it discusses the scope and prospects of practice, and delineates practice standards and professional performance standards and their measurement criteria. In all, there are 15 standards of practice:

Six Standards of Practice

  • Assessment
  • Diagnosis
  • Outcomes Identification
  • Planning
  • Implementation
  • Evaluation

Nine Standards of Professional Performance

  • Quality of Practice
  • Education
  • Professional Practice Evaluation
  • Collegiality
  • Collaboration
  • Ethics
  • Research
  • Resource Utilization
  • Leadership

ANA Nursing Standards Books available at NursingWorld.org