MINUTES OF A MEETING OF THE VIRGINIA COMMONWEALTH UNIVERSITY HEALTH SYSTEM AUTHORITY BOARD OF DIRECTORS BOARD OF DIRECTORS MAY 26, 2022

Board Members Present

Dr. Michael Rao, Chair

The Honorable Lamont Bagby

Dr. Hem Bhardwaj

Mr. Joel Bieber

Mr. Clyde Clark

Dr. Alice Coombs

Ms. Pamela El

Dr. Lisa Ellis

Mr. Donald Gehring

The Honorable Lisa Hicks-Thomas

Dr. Arthur Kellermann

Ms. Fay Manolios

Dr. Bruce Mathern

The Honorable Ryan McDougle

Dr. Shantaram Talegaonkar

Dr. Michelle Whitehurst-Cook

Board Members Attending Virtually

Dr. Gopinath Jadhav

Mr. Keith Parker

Mr. Stuart Siegel

Staff Present

Ms. Karen Helderman

Ms. Anne Scher, Esq.

Mr. James Siegel

Ms. Mary Tacconi

Others Present

Mr. Zeb Elliott

Mr. Vladimir Lavrentyev

I. Call to order

In accordance with Virginia Freedom of Information Act, Section 2.2-3708.2 "Meetings held through electronic means", Subsection D., this meeting of the Executive Committee of the VCU Health System ("VCUHS") Board of Directors was held via Zoom and livestreamed. Due to personal matters, Dr. Gopinath Jadhav, Mr. Keith Parker, and Mr. Stuart Siegel were approved to attend the meeting virtually. Mr. Parker participated from Atlanta, Georgia, Dr. Jadhav participated from Corolla, North Carolina and Mr. Siegel participated from a different location in Richmond, VA. Dr. Rao called the meeting to order at 2:02 p.m.

Dr. Rao began the meeting by sharing his excitement for the recent VCU graduation especially with the challenges over the last 3 years.

II. Motion into Closed Session

On a motion made and seconded, and authorized by Sections 2.2-3711 (A)(8), and (23), the Board convened into closed session to discuss: (i) operational strategies where disclosure of such strategies would adversely affect the competitive position of the Authority, including: a Strategic Financial Update and a Strategic Property discussion related to a lease and (ii) to consult with legal counsel employed or retained by a public body regarding specific legal matters requiring the provision of legal advice by such counsel.

III. Roll Call Vote	<u>Ayes</u>	<u>Nays</u>
Dr. Michael Rao, Chair	Χ	
The Honorable Lamont Bagby	Χ	
Dr. Hem Bhardwaj	Χ	
Mr. Joel Bieber	X	
Mr. Clyde Clark	Χ	
Dr. Alice Coombs	Χ	
Ms. Pamela El	Χ	
Dr. Lisa Ellis	Χ	
Ms. May Fox	Absent	
Mr. Donald Gehring	Χ	
The Honorable Lisa Hicks-Thomas	Χ	
Dr. Gopinath Jadhav	Χ	
Dr. Arthur Kellermann	Χ	
Ms. Fay Manolios	Χ	
Dr. Bruce Mathern	Χ	
Mr. Timothy McDermott	Absent	
The Honorable Ryan McDougle	Absent	
Mr. Keith Parker	Χ	
Mr. Stuart Siegel	Χ	
Dr. Shantaram Talegaonkar	X	
Dr. Michelle Whitehurst-Cook	Χ	

Vote:

Ayes 18

Nays	0	
ABSENT I	DURING MEETING	2
ABSENT I	DURING VOTING	3

IV. Motion into Open

Following closed session, on a motion made and seconded, the committee convened into open session by roll call vote:

V. Roll Call Vote	<u>Ayes</u>	<u>Nays</u>
Dr. Michael Rao, Chair The Honorable Lamont Bagby Dr. Hem Bhardwaj Mr. Joel Bieber Mr. Clyde Clark Dr. Alice Coombs Ms. Pamela El Dr. Lisa Ellis Ms. May Fox Mr. Donald Gehring The Honorable Lisa Hicks-Thomas Dr. Gopinath Jadhav Dr. Arthur Kellermann Ms. Fay Manolios Dr. Bruce Mathern Mr. Timothy McDermott The Honorable Ryan McDougle Mr. Keith Parker Mr. Stuart Siegel Dr. Shantaram Talegaonkar Dr. Michelle Whitehurst-Cook	X X X X X X X X Absent X X X X X X X X X X X X X X X X X X X	
<u>Vote:</u>		
Ayes 18 Nays 0		
ABSENT DURING MEETING ABSENT DURING VOTING	2 3	

VI. Resolution of Certification

Following closed session, on a motion made and seconded, the following

resolution was approved by roll call vote:

The Board of Directors of the Virginia Commonwealth University Health System Authority hereby certifies that, to the best of each member's knowledge, (i) only public business matters that are lawfully exempt from the open meeting requirements under Virginia law were discussed in the closed session meeting to which this certification resolution applies, and (ii) only such public business matters as were identified in the motion convening the closed session were heard, discussed or considered.

VII. Roll Call Vote	<u>Ayes</u>	<u>Nays</u>
Dr. Michael Rao, Chair The Honorable Lamont Bagby Dr. Hem Bhardwaj Mr. Joel Bieber Mr. Clyde Clark Dr. Alice Coombs Ms. Pamela El Dr. Lisa Ellis Ms. May Fox Mr. Donald Gehring The Honorable Lisa Hicks-Thomas Dr. Gopinath Jadhav Dr. Arthur Kellermann Ms. Fay Manolios Dr. Bruce Mathern Mr. Timothy McDermott The Honorable Ryan McDougle Mr. Keith Parker Mr. Stuart Siegel Dr. Shantaram Talegaonkar Dr. Michelle Whitehurst-Cook	X X X X X X X Absent Abstain X X X X X X X X Absent Absent X X X X X X X X X X X X X X X X X	X
Vote:		
Ayes 17 Nays 1 Abstention 1		
ABSENT DURING MEETING ABSENT DURING VOTING	2 3	

VIII. Motion to Accept

On a motion made and seconded, the board approved the following, as presented, the plan regarding the lease transaction including any costs related to the action.

IX. Roll Call Vote	Ayes	<u>Nays</u>
Dr. Michael Rao, Chair The Honorable Lamont Bagby Dr. Hem Bhardwaj Mr. Joel Bieber Mr. Clyde Clark Dr. Alice Coombs Ms. Pamela El Dr. Lisa Ellis Ms. May Fox Mr. Donald Gehring The Honorable Lisa Hicks-Thomas Dr. Gopinath Jadhav Dr. Arthur Kellermann Ms. Fay Manolios Dr. Bruce Mathern Mr. Timothy McDermott The Honorable Ryan McDougle Mr. Keith Parker Mr. Stuart Siegel Dr. Shantaram Talegaonkar Dr. Michelle Whitehurst-Cook	X X X X X X X Absent Abstain X X X X X X X X X X X X X X X X X X X	X
<u>Vote:</u>		
Ayes 17 Nays 1 Abstention 1		
ABSENT DURING MEETING ABSENT DURING VOTING	2 3	

There being no further business, the meeting was adjourned at 4:04 p.m.