MINUTES OF THE MEETING OF THE VIRGINIA COMMONWEALTH UNIVERSITY HEALTH SYSTEM AUTHORITY BOARD OF DIRECTORS EVALUATION AND COMPENSATION COMMITTEE March 22, 2021

Committee Members

Mr. Steven DeLuca, Chair (virtual) The Honorable Lamont Bagby The Honorable Lisa Hicks-Thomas The Honorable Ryan McDougle Mr. Timothy McDermott Mr. Keith Parker Dr. Michael Rao The Honorable Marilyn Tavenner

Staff

Mr. Zeb Elliott Ms. Kim Erland Ms. Melinda Hancock Ms. Karen Helderman Ms. Paula Henderson Mr. Taron James

Board Member Guests

Mr. Clyde Clark Dr. Lisa Ellis Dr. Wilhelm Zuelzer

Dr. Arthur Kellermann Mr. Vladimir Lavrentyev Ms. Pamela Lepley Mr. Paul Neimeyer, Esq. Ms. Mary Tacconi

Other Guests

Ms. Sally LaFond Mr. Jose Pagoaga

I. Call to Order

In accordance with Virginia Freedom of Information Act, Section 2.2-3708.2

"Meetings held through electronic means", Subsection D., this meeting of the VCU

Health System ("VCUHS") Evaluation and Compensation Committee was held in

person, electronically via Zoom and livestreamed. Mr. DeLuca called the meeting to

order at 2:25 p.m.

II. Minutes of the Meeting held on December 9, 2020

On a motion made and seconded, the minutes of the meeting held December 9, 2020, were approved.

III. <u>Roll Call Vote</u>	Ayes	<u>Nays</u>
Mr. Steven DeLuca, Chair	X	
The Honorable Lamont Bagby	X	
The Honorable Lisa Hicks-Thomas The Honorable Ryan McDougle	s X X	
Mr. Timothy McDermott	X	
Mr. Keith Parker	X	
Dr. Michael Rao	Х	
The Honorable Marilyn Tavenner	Х	
Vote:		
Ayes	8	
Nays	0	
ABSENT DURING MEETING	0	
ABSENT DURING VOTING	0	

IV. <u>Closed Session</u>

On motion made and seconded, and as authorized by Section 2.2-3711(A) (1) of

the Virginia Freedom of Information Act, the committee convened into closed session to

discuss personnel matters, including, Personnel Matters and Policies; Executive

Compensation Philosophy and Model; Industry and Market Trends; FY21 Executive and

CEO ATIP Tracker; and FY22 ATIP Structure and Framework.

V. <u>Roll Call Vote</u>	<u>Ayes</u>	<u>Nays</u>
Mr. Steven DeLuca, Chair The Honorable Lamont Bagby The Honorable Lisa Hicks-Thomas The Honorable Ryan McDougle Mr. Timothy McDermott Mr. Keith Parker Dr. Michael Rao The Honorable Marilyn Tavenner	X X X X X X X X	
<u>Vote:</u> Ayes	8	

Nays	0
ABSENT DURING MEETING	0
ABSENT DURING VOTING	0

VI. Open Session

On a motion made and seconded, the committee convened into open session, and approved by roll call vote.

VII. <u>Roll Call Vote</u>	Ayes	<u>Nays</u>
Mr. Steven DeLuca, Chair	Х	
The Honorable Lamont Bagby	Х	
The Honorable Lisa Hicks-Thomas	Х	
The Honorable Ryan McDougle	Х	
Mr. Timothy McDermott	Х	
Mr. Keith Parker	Х	
Dr. Michael Rao	Х	
The Honorable Marilyn Tavenner	Х	
Vote:		
Ayes	8	
Nays	0	
ABSENT DURING MEETING	0	
ABSENT DURING VOTING	0	

VIII. <u>Resolution of Certification</u>

Following closed session, on a motion made and seconded, the following resolution was approved by roll call vote:

The Evaluation and Compensation Committee of the Board of Directors of the Virginia Commonwealth University Health System Authority hereby certifies that, to the best of each member's knowledge, (i) only public business matters lawfully exempted from open meeting requirements by Virginia law were discussed in the closed session meeting to which this certification resolution applies, and (ii) only such public business matters as were identified in this motion convening the closed session were heard, discussed or considered by the Evaluation and Compensation Committee of the Board of Directors of the Virginia Commonwealth University Health System Authority.

IX. Roll Call Vote	<u>Ayes</u>	<u>Nays</u>
Mr. Steven DeLuca, Chair	Х	
The Honorable Lamont Bagby	Х	

The Honorable Lisa Hicks-Thomas	Х
The Honorable Ryan McDougle	Х
Mr. Timothy McDermott	Х
Mr. Keith Parker	Х
Dr. Michael Rao	Х
The Honorable Marilyn Tavenner	Х

<u>Vote:</u> Ayes	8
Nays	0
ABSENT DURING MEETING	0
ABSENT DURING VOTING	0

X. Motion to Accept

On a motion made and seconded the committee approved and recommend the

Board of Directors approve, the Personnel Matters and Policies and the Executive

Compensation Philosophy and Model, as presented, by roll call vote.

I. <u>Roll Call Vote</u>	<u>Ayes</u>	<u>Nays</u>
Mr. Steven DeLuca, Chair The Honorable Lamont Bagby The Honorable Lisa Hicks-Thomas The Honorable Ryan McDougle Mr. Timothy McDermott Mr. Keith Parker Dr. Michael Rao The Honorable Marilyn Tavenner	X X X X X X X X	
<u>Vote:</u> Ayes Nays	8 0	

ABSENT DURING MEETING	0
ABSENT DURING VOTING	0

There being no further business the meeting was adjourned at 4:08 p.m.